BILASPUR district is not only famous in Chhattisgarh but in India due to its unique characteristics like rice quality, Kosa industry and its cultural background. Bilaspur district has a major contribution in the naming "Dhan Ka Katora" for the entire Chhattisgarh region.

The Bilaspur city is approximately 400 years old and the name "Bilaspur" has been originated from the Fisher-woman named "Bilasa". Over the years Bilaspur has developed a lot, despite several natural calamities.

Bilaspur district is situated between 21'47 and 23'8 north latitudes and 81'14 and 83'15 east latitudes. The district is bounded by Korea on the north, Anuppur District and Dindori District of Madhya Pradesh state on the West, Kawardha on the southwest, Durg and Raipur on the south and Korba and Janjgir-Champa on the East. The area of the district is 6377 sq. k.m. The total population of the district is approx 1,993,042.

The climate of Bilaspur district is sub-tropical, semi arid, continental and monsoon type. Thus, it has hot summers, cool winters and small rainy season. The winter season starts towards the later half of November and extends till about the middle of March followed by summer, which continues till about the end of June when maximum temperature reaches up to 45’ C and dust cyclones are common. After it, southwest monsoon arrives. The rainy season remains between July to September. The post monsoon months October and November constitute a transitional period from monsoon to winter season.

The climate is ideal for agriculture development, particularly for wheat, rice, sugarcane and cotton crops. Limited rainy season, good and healthy climate is suitable for industrial development also.

Annual rainfall of the district is about Rainfall is unevenly distributed and decreases form south cast to Southwest. Rainy season starts from July to September. About 80% of the total rainfall is received during this period. Some amount of rainfall is received from western disturbances during winter season. Due to less rainfall and its short duration the agricultural activity is mostly dependent upon canal irrigation and tubewells.

Divisions, Tehsils and Blocks
Bilaspur district consists of 8 tehsils. These tehsils are Bilaspur, Pendra, Pendra road, Kota, Takhatpur, Bilha, Marwahi and Masturi. There is 7 blocks and the total number of villages in the district is 898. The headquarters of the district is Bilaspur. It is the second largest city in the state and the seat of the High Court of Chhattisgarh. It is called Nyaydhani (legal capital) of Chhattisgarh. Bilaspur is famous for Kanan Pendari Zoo Park. Arpa is a river passing through the district, it is very shallow in depth, but creates havoc during rains.

Rivers and Drainage System
The major river of Bilaspur district is Arpa. The river originates in Khodri Khongsara of Pendra sub division and is the largest river in the district and is about 100 k.m. long. Other major rivers of the district are as Leelagar and Maniyari.